Week Fifty Two

Rained out.

Posted in 2008 Archives, Art news, general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 22 October 2008

I’m in Kearney this week for the Nebraska Travel Conference. It’s about 30 degrees here and has been blowing like crazy and raining hard since I left Lincoln Tuesday morning. No end in sight. If I had my camera I’d take a photo of the flag that I’ve been staring at all day blowing – hard – straight South. Luckily I grabbed a winter coat and scarf as I walked out the door of my apartment, and even luckier, found a pair of gloves stashed in the pockets. Don’t worry about me, though – I’m snug in my hotel room watching Netflix on demand. Modern technology matters most during business travel, I find.

Anyhow, on to some art stuff. If you find yourself in Lincoln on Halloween or the day after, it’d be worth your time to spend some time at Sheldon and take a gander at their amazing installation for Dia De Los Muertos, one of my favorite holidays. Events at the museum include some serious decorating in the Great Hall, the centerpiece being a huge ofrrenda, and festivities take place on Oct. 31 and Nov. 1.

On Oct. 31, events begin at 5 p.m. with food and a silent auction. At 5:15 enjoy a theater performance followed by live music. On Nov. 1, from 1-4 p.m. visitors can eat food, make art and particpiate in a silent auction. Dance performances begin at 1:15 and 3:15 and live music starts at 1:30 and 3:30. The weekend’s events coincide with a new show opening at Sheldon, TRANSactions: Contemporary Latin American and Latino Art.

To see a slide show of the installation for Dia de Los Muertos, click here.

Leave a Reply

