Week Fifty Two

Thankful.

Posted in 2008 Archives, Art news, general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 26 November 2008

I spent my first day off of the thanksgiving weekend writing and doing some research in the Coffee House in Lincoln. I never realized the joy of this place when I was in college – it took me much longer – but I do now. They have yummy cookies, delicious tea (I recommend the Monk’s Prayer, which my sister recommended to me) and I got a vegetarian sandwich here for four bucks today. I also listened to the two girls next to me – I’d guess they were at least ten years younger than I am – discuss their views on God, church, boys, dating and marriage. I didn’t agree with anything they said but it was interesting nonetheless.

It being the day before thanksgiving, this, of course, makes me realize how much I have to be thankful for; its something the season always makes me realize.

Last weekend, I went to the Bemis Auction and it was a fun night. The sales figures haven’t been released yet, but it’ll be interesting to find out if art can truly survive tough times or if ecnomic constraints have hit even the biggest Omaha pocketbooks. Bemis didn’t cut any corners on the event, though: the art was good, the food tasty and the drinks flowing. Stay tuned for the updates of the night. Also, speaking of Bemis, I’d mentioned a few weeks ago that I had some news: I revealed it last week in my Mixed Media column.

In a few hours, I’m departing for the country, and I won’t be blogging again until December. Have a great holiday.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Melanie said, on 6 December 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Hey Sarah,
    I’m not sure if you’ve seen it already, but I just watched “Craft in America” via Netflix today. It’s a three-part PBS documentary on what influences craft artists and I think you’d probably enjoy it. http://www.craftinamerica.org/tvseries/


Leave a Reply

