Week Fifty Two

Snow day

Posted in 2008 Archives, general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 16 December 2008

So my car didn’t start yesterday morning. We tried to jump start it this morning, but that didn’t work either. I’m waiting for a tow truck to come sometime between the hours of 10 am and 3 pm. I guess tow trucks are in high demand when the first big snow happens. I’m concerned about my auto – I need that p.o.j. to get back and forth to work, but thankfully I have an understanding boss, a laptop and a wireless connection at home, which makes me effective no matter where I’m at. Things aren’t all bad.

So. I’m almost done with my Christmas shopping – some of my gifts are handmade by others; some this year are handmade by my own hands! But if you’re in the market for some handmade gifties, there’s lots of options. In the spirit of some of my favorite fashion blogs on the Web, here I present my first annual artsy gift guide.

The sort of “mecca” for handmade gifts on the Web is etsy. I’ve come to rely on this site, full of creative, well-priced artisan goods, for birthdays, holidays – just about everything. The site has a great “shop local” button that allows you to type in your city and find local artists creating stuff in your community. Here’s some of my favorite local finds.

Omaha based shop tommymama has a great selection of hand printed notecards; the set featuring colorful mixers would make beautiful, yet subversive, thank you notes, and at $12 are a budget friendly choice.

mixer1

One of my favorite local shops, Scout Dry Goods, has some neat finds on its etsy page, including this pretty amazing Enid Collins vintage purse. It’s a bit pricier – at $76 – but I know it’d be perfect for a stylish sister, friend or mom.

purse1

In a shop called bustle, I found this fun DIY brooch (I have a crafty friend in mind who would love sporting this flower on her vintage tweed winter coat.) And at only $10, its another budget friendly gift.

flower

I’ve often considered buying one of Honeysuckle Creations’ very cool lamps with shades made of vintage slides. Each shade is made up of images of one place; my current favorite is a duo of shades chronicling one woman’s travels through Asia. What a great conversation piece!

slides

I’m totally into this handmade phrase ring by Lynnyyvonne. She also makes some great personalized circular name necklaces that a few of my friends own – they’re an artsy take on the ubiquitous nameplate necklaces that I think are always in style.

ring

Many of our friendly, local galleries are also having Holiday-themed sales – RNG Gallery, Artists Cooperative Gallery, Jackson Street Artworks and others. If you’re more into buying your gifts in person, I highly suggest checking one of those sales out – time is of the essence and the perfect gift doesn’t have to be elusive.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julie said, on 16 December 2008 at 3:45 pm

    sarah, i’m so glad you wrote about etsy! as you know, etsy is MY go-to for nearly every gift for any occasion. i’ve shopped etsy for wedding gifts, birthday, christmas, valentine’s day, mother’s day, et al. i also love the “shop local” feature – it’s so nice to know you’re supporting local artists in exchange for what usually turns out to be *the perfect* gift. p.s. i’m totes crushing on those lampshades you wrote about!

  2. Season of Change « Week Fifty Two said, on 14 October 2009 at 1:46 pm

    […] longer than I’d remembered. And I have blogged about Lynnyyvonne and her amazing jewelry; I featured her work in December 2008. I still love her phrase rings and circular name necklaces. She’s […]

  3. 2009 Holiday Gift Guide « Week Fifty Two said, on 23 November 2009 at 2:59 pm

    […] Posted in general interest by Sarah Baker-Hansen on 23 November 2009 Last year, I wrote a gift guide about local artists who make the kind of things that are perfect when it comes time for holiday […]


Leave a Reply

