Week Fifty Two

Stripes and Quilts

Posted in Art openings by sarahbakerhansen on 12 January 2009

20090107stripes1

20090107stripes2

So I’ve mentioned before on the site that I have a not so secret love of quilts. I brought the one I started over the summer back out a week or so ago and have been aiming to finish it this year. I’m sewing it by hand, so its slower than if I machine sewed it, but the relative teaching me the art of quilting said its best to do your first quilt by hand to gain appreciation for the history of quilting. And of course I’m all about that.

The quilt I’m making features a simple log cabin pattern – a series of repeating stripes and squares in different lengths. So when I saw the new show opening at Lincoln’s Quilt Study Center, featuring sixteen striped quilts, I was pretty excited. The show opens Jan. 16.

The quilts in the show feature both striped fabric – pinstriped or textured – animal stripes, recing stripes and lots of other natural and man-made uses of this simple design. It’s all about catching the eye and creating an engaging surface.

Leave a Reply

