Week Fifty Two

Wrist Art

Posted in general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 30 January 2009

swatches

I have a bit of a thing for Swatch watches. Today, I stopped by one of my  favorite resale shops to find loads of dead stock 1980s and early 90s Swatch watches: $5 each. I had heart palpitations. I think, along with my father’s architecture and art books, Swatch watches were one of the first things I fell in love with that helped me express my artistic side. Looking at those books – and wearing these watches – made me feel a whole lot cooler than I actually was.

I still have the the second Swatch I ever got – in 1988, or thereabouts. It has a plaid color block face, one green strap, one red strap and a yellow buckle. I lost my first Swatch on a roller coaster at Worlds of Fun in Kansas City. (For the record, that one had fish swimming across its face.) That was the last roller coaster ride I ever took.

I think the people at the resale shop today thought I was a bit nuts, methodically digging through bins and bins of cast-off jewelry in search of the elusive: a Keith Haring swatch. The Vivienne Westwood Pop Swatch I’ve always coveted. Alas, I didn’t find either of those. But I found a handful of others that I brought home. If you see me around, be sure to take a gander at my wrist. I’ll probably be wearing one.

And for the unfamiliar: check out some artist-designed Swatch watches here. Peruse that Web site and you’ll see they list every Swatch ever made. Awesome.

photo courtesy of velvetdahlia’s flickr account. She’s clearly a fellow fanatic.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kumquatkween said, on 5 February 2009 at 7:11 pm

    i would love to BLOW UP AND FRAME that image of the swatches you have up there! wouldn’t it be lovely, with a nice frame job by visions? 😉

  2. Sarah Baker said, on 5 February 2009 at 7:22 pm

    In college, my friend Melanie Falk did a painting of me with a border of swatch watches that looked almost like that. I loved it. The only thing I would want more than the above photo framed would be that collection of swatches!


Leave a Reply

