Week Fifty Two

On Films…

Posted in general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 3 February 2009

clueless1

I’ve had movies on the brain the past week or two. My friend Alice Kim gave me a list of her favorite “recommended films” that she loves and thinks everyone – especially people she knows and works with – should see. (In fact, she just wrote a blog post about movies, too.) Alice runs Trocadero, a boutique in Omaha’s Old Market, so appropriately, most of the movies on the list have big fashion moments, mirror the cutthroat world of the fashion industry or feature some of the most iconic actresses of our time, of course wearing beautiful clothes. It’s a list I really like. Last week, I’d seen sixteen of the 28 movies on Alice’s list. Yesterday, I watched “Working Girl” (which was conveniently playing on AMC) and this week I’m going to watch “Auntie Mame” via my Netflix subscription on my laptop. So after tonight, only ten more to go.

A few of my favorite movies of all time are on Alice’s list: “Casablanca,” “Belle de Jour,” “Clueless” (even though when I first saw it, I was clueless as to what an Alaia* was) and “Annie Hall.”

If I were going to make my own recommended film list, I’d add Woody Allen’s “Manhattan,” which steals my heart with its opening credits every time; “Citizen Ruth,” which I love for both its Omaha ties and its fearless subject matter; and “La Vie En Rose,” the first movie I saw at Omaha’s Filmstreams, and one that simply blew me away. I also love art films. Luis Bunuel’s “Un Chien Andalou” and L’ Âge d’or are two of my all-time favorites. So is Hans Namuth’s film of Jackson Pollock painting in 1951.

I could go on and on, reviewing movies of different genres that I like – or love – for many different reasons. But I digress. Have you seen any of the films on Alice’s or my abbreviated list? Which are your favorites? And what movies would you recommend, if asked? Please, comment!

Alice’s Recommended Movie List: All About Eve, Annie Hall, Auntie Mame, Belle de Jour, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Casablanca, Clueless, Darling, The Devil Wears Prada, Dr. Zhivago, The Great Gatsby, Funny Face, La Dolce Vita, Love Story, North by Northwest, Out of Africa, The Philadelphia Story, Pretty in Pink, Roman Holiday, Sabrina, Shampoo, The Talented Mr. Ripley, The Thomas Crown Affair (1968), To Catch a Thief, Unzipped, When Harry Met Sally, The Women, Working Girl.

*”Totally Important Designer” — Cher Horowitz

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kumquatkween said, on 5 February 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Well, if these are must-see films that also touch on great fashion, I MUST add two Kubrick films: Barry Lyndon and A Clockwork Orange. Barry Lyndon has absolutely jaw-dropping (Academy Award winning) costumes and sets. In fact, many of the shots in the film were meticulously composed and filmed to look like eighteenth century paintings and it’s even rumored that some of the costumes were actual antiques from that time period. And then there’s A Clockwork Orange with its backdrop of a futuristic, broken-down England. Alex and the other “droogs” are decked out in stark, shocking costumes which evoke the thought of very sexy, very sadistic death troopers. And that eyelash, oh, the signature eyelash.


Leave a Reply

