Week Fifty Two

Artsy Valentine’s Day Gift List

Posted in general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 5 February 2009

I’m a sucker for Valentine’s Day. It’s sad, but true. I really like flowers. I like getting dressed up and going out for dinner. I like eating Godiva chocolates without feeling one whit of guilt. Last year, my significant broke the bank on Valentine’s day: flowers, an obscenely expensive dinner at one of Omaha’s nicest restaurants and a gift, too. I wore an amazing vintage Geoffrey Beene dress – a gown, really – that I’d bought at an estate sale and held in my closet, just waiting for the perfect moment. At the end of the night, I suggested that this Valentine’s Day, we go to the opposite extreme: eat on the cheap, play video games at Family Fun Center and bowl a few rounds over a pitcher of cheap beer. So that’s what we’re doing next weekend. I’m totally excited.

Below, I present you with a list of artsy Valentine’s Day gifts: some are for the break-the-bank style, some the beer-and-bowling style. Enjoy, and whatever you do, have a happy Hallmark holiday.

road_60_x_60_oil_on_canvas_2005

I covet art for, well, most every holiday. This piece, called The Road by artist Mary Ann Strandell, is available for purchase via Bemis Center Art Sales. If you’re looking for something grandiose, over the top and sure to make your lady or man swoon, well, this is certainly it.

47496_l

My significant loves reading the New Yorker. So what better gift for a literary type than a framed New Yorker cover with a love theme? The New Yorker store has lots of these to choose from, and if you can’t quite swing a framed cover, they also sell sets of note cards featuring the love covers that would be perfect for penning romantic (or thank you) notes.

108

I spend two Sundays a month working at Trocadero, and the store has some sweet gifts just in for Valentine’s Day. I tried one of these Recchiuti fleur de sel caramels the last time I was there. Yum. They are truly the perfect marriage of salty and sweet. So if you have a Godiva lover in your life, get her a box of these instead for a surprising treat. ($9-$28.)

bfn

My sister and I already have a set of these, but if we didn’t, I’d totally get this one for us. And considering Valentine’s Day is about love – not necessarily couple love – this is perfect for your sister or your best girl. Find it in accentcreation’s etsy store for only $12.99.

red

I love notebooks. The act of writing is so romantic, so what better way to say I love you than with a red Moleskine notebook. If it was good enough for Hemingway and Picasso, then its’ good enough for me. Find one at Barnes and Noble for around $10.

solitaire-ring-3a

Finally, I covet one of these Erica Weiner Herkimer diamond solitare rings from Bona Drag. The rings – cut and set to look like giant rock diamonds – are actually made from worthless quartz crystal, and its a visual joke I love. And at $100, they have a lotta bling for just a little price tag.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lindsey said, on 5 February 2009 at 2:36 pm

    i will take one of everything. thank you.

  2. kumquatkween said, on 8 February 2009 at 11:40 pm

    i love all of your ideas. but i must say, i’m absolutely in LOVE with mary ann strandell’s piece. head over heels. mary, will you be my valentine?


Leave a Reply

