Week Fifty Two

Scout Dry Goods

Posted in general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 16 February 2009

My readers know by now that I consider clothing and fashion an art form in its own right (and I spent the better part of my morning looking at stills and videos from New York Fashion Week, which started Friday.)

After a morning gorging on fashion and a delicious lunch at La Buvette, I had just enough time between meetings and deadlines for a quick swing through Scout. Up to this point, I’d not had a huge amount of luck buying in the store. I have had heaps of luck selling my old clothes to the store – re-sale is one of my favorite things. But today my luck in the purchasing category changed, and I found three really special pieces.

dsc01848

This amazing half rainbow zebra half normal zebra print scarf is huge. You can’t really tell from the photo, but it covers the span of most of my living room floor. I cannot wait to wear it. Price: $12.99.

dsc01845

dsc01846

This is such an amazing 1960s groovy piece, I had to have it. It reminds me of spring, but I won’t wait until then to carry it. It’s got a lovely silk outside and even has a matching coin purse inside! Sadly, the coin purse is off white silk, like the inside of the bag, instead of the groovy print like the bag. Price: $16.

dsc018531

dsc01854

dsc01855

Jane, one of my favorite fashion bloggers, oft wears a lovely, softly sparkling lace dress on her blog, Sea of Shoes. I’ve been looking for something similar since I saw her wear it, and this is as close as I’ve come. The skirt is sheer, but with a vintage lace slip or a vintage crinoline underneath, or even a skirt to wear over the top, problem solved. I’ll pair this with a wide vintage belt and some over the top shoes. Price: $26.

If you haven’t been to Scout, it’s at 5019 Underwood Ave. They’re always looking for new clothes and they pay cash on the spot or give you store credit if they like what you bring in. Scout also sells goods on Etsy, and you can check out its page here.

Happy hunting!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kumquatkween said, on 21 February 2009 at 7:02 pm

    I can’t stop looking at that amazing rainbow zebra scarf! What a gorge and totes unique find, Booms. Well done, you.


Leave a Reply

