Week Fifty Two

Renner in review

Posted in Art news, Art openings, Art review, general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 13 May 2009

renner2Last weekend, I went to one of the two Paul Renner dinners at the Bemis Center. What a night that was. I knew it was going to be a memorable experience when I saw the installation on the opeing night of his show; and even though I thought I was prepared, I really wasnt. I’ve been a vegetarian for nearly two years, so I found the emphasis on meat a bit unsettling, especially as I knew I’d have to sit at the table and participate. After giving it a lot of thought, I decided to forgo my qualms about eating meat for one night, in the name of fine art and having an experience. 

I wrote a guest “Dish” column in the Reader this week about the experience. 

Did you attend a Renner dinner? If so, what did you think?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kumquatkween said, on 24 May 2009 at 9:24 am

    i just read your guest “dish” column – so how was it? what did you (or could you) eat at such a meat-centric dinner? i’d love to know! (p.s. OMG to this!!: “It’s elegantly draped with hundreds of web-like bovine stomach linings.”)

  2. Scott Blake said, on 24 May 2009 at 5:32 pm

    I had two servings of brains! I liked the act of being fed brains like a communion wafer. I also enjoyed Paul Renner smoking on stage.


Leave a Reply

