Week Fifty Two

Maybe all I need is a shot in the arm

Posted in general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 7 June 2009

I’ve been in a rut lately.

At first, I just thought it was the rainy weather. Then I started to blame it on a host of other things. My seasonal allergies. Stress at work. Wedding planning. Marathon training.

But last week, I got called into my editor’s office, which is the equivalent of getting called into the principal’s office in grade school. “We think you might be in a bit of a rut,” he said.

Then I knew it was real.

It’s true that I’ve had a hard time lately making time for blogging. It’s also true that I’ve felt lackluster at best when it comes to sitting down Sunday nights and writing for a few hours in order to meet my regular deadline.

It’s not the first time something like this has happened to me; I just can’t seem to remember what I did the other times to snap out of it.

I’ve been writing about art for close to seven years now. At some point earlier this month, while writing a review of a show that I quite enjoyed, I simply ran out of things to say. The story was far short in length and I tried my hardest to think of things to add, but I felt like it would have just been padding . So I sent it as it was. That was probably my lowest point. At least I hope it was.

I’ve got a couple assignments coming up, and I hope I can find a hidden pocket of inspiration somewhere – I wish I could find my usual turn of phrase and get back to where I was once before.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

