Week Fifty Two

Weekend in review

Posted in Art openings, general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 14 June 2009

Late last week, I tried a new recipe that my friend Lainey posted on her blog Food Eaten. It was for “meatless” meatballs. I haven’t had a meatball in nearly two years – since I became a vegetarian- so I had to try it. My Cuisinart, usually my best friend in the kitchen, did me wrong for the first time. I thought mixing all the ingredients in the food processor would have been quicker and neater than doing it all by hand. Instead of ending up with a chunky, meat-like mix, I ended up with a concoction more the texture of hummus. Oops. But as I don’t usually let cooking get the best of me, I dumped the mix into a baking pan, topped it with some sliced mushrooms and made a msuhroom meatloaf. It cooked for much longer than the recommended time, but tasted absolutely great. I sliced it the next day and ate it cold in a sandwich, reliving one of my favorite treats from my meat eating days. Thanks, Lainey, for the great recipe. Readers can find her blog post about it here.

Last night, I went to the newest opening at the RNG Gallery, “Paradox of Value,” featuring new work by Jess Benjamin. I really enjoyed the show. I’ve written many stories about Jess and her work, most of which is inspired by her Nebraska home, and this work builds on what she’s done in the past. I chatted with her for a few minutes at the show, and mentioned that this work is so different from her past work. “That’s how it’s supposed to be, right?” she asked. Yes, I suppose it is. Anyway, I’ll write a capsule review of the show later this week. But I highly recommend stopping by. It’s thought provoking.

Today was pretty much my idea of a perfect Sunday. Long run early in the day. Afternoon nap. Dinner on the roofdeck. Ice cream in the Old Market. Hope you had a lovely Sunday, too.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lainey said, on 17 June 2009 at 9:07 am

    haha. that sounds like something i would do. i’m glad it worked out. good improvisation!

  2. kumquatkween said, on 17 June 2009 at 4:38 pm

    ah, and what a loverly sunday it was! i’d love to take a stab at lainey’s meatless ‘balls as well. (nice work saving/converting, booms!)


Leave a Reply

