Week Fifty Two

The Art of Food: lemon sorbet

Posted in general interest, The art of food by sarahbakerhansen on 6 July 2009

Eating has always been one of my passions, and as of late, cooking is becoming one too. Beacuse I think food is an art form of its own, this post is the first of what will become a regular feature called “The Art of Food.” I hope you enjoy.

A few weeks ago I had my first bridal shower; I’m getting married later this year. One surprise gift (i.e. one I did not register for) was an ice cream maker.

I decided to use it to make one of my favorites: lemon sorbet.  After a quick Google search, I found a recipe that looked easy enough.

Boiling lemon syrup

Boiling lemon syrup

The sugar, water and lemon peel boiled and then simmered for a few minutes. I moved the pan to the refrigerator to cool down.

DSC02522

Pre-sorbet mix

After the syrup cooled down, I mixed it in with lemon juice and lime flavored Pellegrino. Then I was supposed to wait for that to cool off too, but I got too impatient. So I just threw it into the ice cream machine and hoped for the best.

After about one minute

After about one minute

Five minutes...

Five minutes...

Ten minutes

Ten minutes...

Fifteen minutes...

Fifteen minutes...

Twenty minutes...

Twenty minutes...

Voila!

Voila!

The recipe only makes a tiny amount of sorbet, but you don’t need much. It’s tart! But also delicious. Enjoy.

Yum.

Yum.

Lemon Sorbet

  • 1 lemon’s peel, finely diced
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup carbonated mineral water
  • 6 strips of lemon zest, for garnish

DIRECTIONS
In a saucepan, stir together the diced lemon peel, 1 cup of water and sugar. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium and simmer for 5 minutes. Remove from the heat, and allow to cool.

In a pitcher or bowl, stir together the lemon syrup with peel, lemon juice and mineral water. Pour into an ice cream maker, and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Garnish each serving with a twist of lemon peel.

If you do not have an ice cream maker, you may freeze it in a tall canister. Freeze for 1 1/2 hours. Remove and stir with a whisk. Return to the freezer and stir about once every hour for about 4 hours. The more times you stir, the more air will be incorporated, resulting in a lighter finished product.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Protagonist said, on 10 August 2009 at 4:15 am

    I made an art drop. Joslyn Castle. west side. off of 40th st. look quick before they take it down. I call it ‘Pandora’. i like the Wikipedia definition… even though they say it’s not a box.

  2. The Protagonist said, on 10 August 2009 at 4:24 am

    http://twitter.com/theprotag
    adding some spice to the Midwest landscape.


Leave a Reply

