Week Fifty Two

Season of Change

Posted in general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 14 October 2009

Fall has always been my favorite season: the cool snap in the air, the warm colors, hot cups of steaming tea, sweaters and boots and scarves. This fall is especially a season I think I’ll remember; a lot has happened in my life. I spent all summer planning a wedding, and I’m married now.  It was a lovely day and I’m glad I did it. Being surrounded by old friends and new family is a great thing. After some time away from things – from my “normal life” that is usually full of writing, I’m back to blogging.

This morning, as I bought my usual cup of coffee, my favorite Omaha barista-slash jewelry maker asked me if I’d blogged about her art. I honestly couldn’t remember the last time I’d written a blog post. Turns out it was in July, meaning that my unplanned sabbatical was even longer than I’d remembered. And I have blogged about Lynnyyvonne and her amazing jewelry; I featured her work in December 2008. I still love her phrase rings and circular name necklaces. She’s created even more amazing work since I last visited – can I say how much I love the upside down cocktail ring? Sigh.

The interaction with random artists who make beautiful work is one of my favorite parts of blogging about art in Omaha. The chance to write about things I care about is another. The freedom to do it whenever I want is a third. There’s surely a bunch more I could think of if I put my mind to it.

Just a few minutes ago, I officially renewed my domain name for another year. I guess you could say I’m back. Hope you’re still out there reading.

Leave a Reply

