Week Fifty Two

Aubrey Beardsley

Posted in Fashion, general interest by sarahbakerhansen on 15 March 2010

I de-camped this past weekend to my in-law’s home in the country. Before I left, I remembered this great book I picked up last year in the Red Cloud Bookstore, Cather & Company (which sadly shut earlier this year.) I first heard of Aubrey Beardsley when I was reading an old copy of Oscar Wilde’s “Salome” and became entranced with the book-plate inside. Beardsley was the artist behind the illustrations. I was so excited to have found this book in Red Cloud, of all places. I pulled the book off the shelf and captured some of my favorite images to share here. I apologize for the semi-funky quality of  the photos–my camera seems to be on the fritz.

Leave a Reply

